Bar chart show a single bar of a month while different year

Hello,

I am new in kibana. i am using kibana 6.5.0.

I have a table which have column month, year and expenses_value. i have 12 month values in month column (e.g January, February, March etc). i have data from November 2017 to November 2018.

I have use logstash to insert data into elastic search.
now i am creating bar chart of this data.

i am taking expenses_value on y-axis ( aggregation>sum on expenses_value). and month on x-axis (aggregation>term on month field) and sub aggregation (aggregation>term on year field).
i have expenses_value of November 2017 and November 2018. now on visualization, it is showing a single bar of November 2017 and November 2018 (combine values of November 2017 and November 2018, separated by different color in November month bar).

i want to create separate bar of each month and order by month with year.

please suggest.

Thanks.

In your logstash pipeline, try to combine the year and month into the same field, which ideally would be mapped to the date datatype in the Elasticsearch index. You could then use a date_histogram in your visualisation.

To combine the fields, you could for example use add_field in the mutate plugin.

Thanks for your reply.
In mysql database all fields are string type. i have convert two fields in integer.
this is my logstash conf file:

input {

jdbc {
jdbc_driver_library => "C:\Users\ELK_Data\mysql-connector-java-8.0.13.jar"
jdbc_driver_class => "com.mysql.jdbc.Driver"
jdbc_connection_string => "jdbc:mysql://localhost:3306/db_name"
jdbc_user => "root"
jdbc_password => "mysql"
statement => "SELECT * FROM table_name"
type => "response"
}
}
filter {
mutate {convert => ["year", "integer"] }
mutate {convert => ["expenses_value", "integer"] }
}
output {
elasticsearch {
index => "total_expenses_transaction"
document_type => "%{type}"
hosts => "localhost:9200"
}
stdout {}
}

Try something along these lines, before you convert year to integer:

filter {