Browser Displays Text (No Dashboard)

I am new to ELK. I have an ESXI environment and I created a single-node ELK stack using this guide: https://burnhamforensics.com/2018/08/14/creating-a-single-node-elk-stack/.

When I access the URL (http://192.168.1.12:9200/) I receive the text output below.

{
  "name" : "REDACTED",
  "cluster_name" : "REDACTED",
  "cluster_uuid" : "REDACTED",
  "version" : {
    "number" : "6.8.12",
    "build_flavor" : "default",
    "build_type" : "deb",
    "build_hash" : "7a15d2a",
    "build_date" : "2020-08-12T07:27:20.804867Z",
    "build_snapshot" : false,
    "lucene_version" : "7.7.3",
    "minimum_wire_compatibility_version" : "5.6.0",
    "minimum_index_compatibility_version" : "5.0.0"
  },
  "tagline" : "You Know, for Search"
}

I did see a community post regarding a similar issue, but the verified solution did not work for me. I am also hoping this post will help me get a better understanding of ELK in general too. I also started to configure Beats and that should be working, but have not checked the logs yet.

Hi @LogMonitor

Welcome to the community.

The endpoint you accessed us the elasticsearch endpoint which runs on port 9200.

If you installed Kibana in the same server try the same

http://192.168.1.12:5601/

I did notice that you installed version 6.8.12 , if you don't have a specific reason to do so I would recommend our latest version 7.9.2.

Also you might want to look at the documents on our site.

Also we have some great getting started videos.

Stephenb,

Thank for your reply. Thanks for noticing the port difference. I read through both YAML files a little closer and get the difference now. I used the package manager to install all the services needed. I will look into upgrading. I plan on doing a lot with ELK + BEATS, but due to my schedule lately, just trying to get the basics up and running at a minimum.