Exchange logs

Hello everyone !

I create this new topic today beacause I have an issue with message tracking in Exchange logs. Indeed I want to make a top10 senders for example but when I am looking to Exchange's logs there are many event-id just for 1 e-mail. Look at the following picture :

I sent 1 e-mail but there are 10 events. So if i look for the sender d.xxxx@xxx.xx filtering by sender-address.keyword, it will returns me that this user sent 10 e-mails, however it's only one.

Moreover, the number of event is not the same if it is an external / internal e-mail. Sometimes for notifications from any server the number could be 6 for example without "submit" event-id.

I think there is something i didn't understand about Exchange message tracking, maybe i can't get the exact number of e-mails using these logs.

Thanks for reading and have a nice week ! :slight_smile:

Hi- I am a Kibana developer, so I can't explain why your data looks that way, but I can help suggest a few options for understanding the data you have. If you're using one of the Beats that we provide, try asking in those forums instead.

It is pretty common for Elasticsearch data to have a unique key and then repeated values. Here are some options you have:

1. In discover, you can't deduplicate, but you can filter only one message status. Would it work if you only showed the status RECEIVE?
  2. If you need to deduplicate the latest status per message, then I suggest creating an aggregated table. Configure your bucket to be Terms of message-subject, and your metric to be Top Hits of event-id sorted by Time. This will give you the latest status per unique message
  3. If you need to deduplicate often, then I think it would benefit you to change the way data is ingested. For example, you could install a tool like Logstash or Kafka in front of Elasticsearch to process messages.
1 Like

Hi, thank you for your answer !