Fleet UI is unusable due to timeout errors

ES, Kibana, Fleet Server: 7.17.
Elastic Agent versions: 7.17 & 7.15.2

I've been using Fleet for a few months on version 7.15.2 & then 7.16 and things were working great, but after upgrade to 7.17, it's unusable. Cannot open the UI, keep getting "request timed out" for all the pages. If somehow it opens after dozens of attempts, then the APIs will timeout instead.

It's not related to package registry, since I'm able to access Integrations page instantly. Every other aspect of our ELK stack works perfectly smooth. Only facing this issue with Fleet, due to which we are seriously considering moving to manual Beats collection instead. Since that comes with a lot of maintenance for upgrades, we would still prefer using Fleet if someone could help out with this timeout issue.

Timeouts for all pages:

Policies don't get updated, be it small, big, new or old:

Is it related to this? @ruflin

Seeing the same errors on my agents, they are not able to connect to fleet server. There was no proxy or networking related change since the upgrade, it was able to connect since the start.

elastic_agent logs from one of the out-of date machines:

[elastic_agent][error] Could not communicate with fleet-server Checking API will retry, error: status code: 503, fleet-server returned an error: ServiceUnavailable, message: server is stopping

[elastic_agent][error] Could not communicate with fleet-server Checking API will retry, error: fail to checkin to fleet-server: Post "https://x.x:8220/api/fleet/agents/3b8ec162-4a14-4e8c-8899-96d1b4a33513/checkin?": EOF

@marclop Could the experimental: true setting that you had suggested cause this by any chance?

Hi @Yash_Gill,