Graphing Network utilisation from SNMP ifHCInOctets

Hi, I am new to ELK, and trying to get Kibana to generate network utilisation graphs from SNMP ifHCInOctets.

I have collectd querying SNMP ifHCInOctets and IfHCOutOctets and sending tx and rx values into Logstash every two minutes.
The values of these (tx,rx) values matches the counters on the switch.

I have generated line graphs using the derivative of the counter values, and the line graph shape reflects the shape of the rate generated from (much) older MRTG system, however the scale/units looks very different.

Example legacy MRTG graph, Screenshot%20from%202019-01-17%2012-04-38

and example

using ELK

However the Y-axis units look very different. Additionally they ELK generated values look very different from querying switch utilisation from it's CLi, whilst the legacy MRTG are very similar to those from the switch CLI.

Can anyone advise me on this, or alternate ways to achieve this, i.e. graph network utilisation from SNMP ifHCInOctets counters.

Thanks in advance,

@timroes can we please get some help here?

Thanks,
Bhavya

To make sure values are formatted as bytes, you can go to the index pattern under Management for that index you are visualizing, edit the field that you're visualizing and select "Bytes" as a formatter in that screen. That will make the numbers to be presented as bytes too, which would match more up with the (I think) Icinga graph you have been posted.

Besides that the graphs really look the same to me, except that of course the Kibana chart is a bit heigher in your screenshot and tuhs looks a bit more stretched.

Cheers,
Tim

Hi Tim, Thanks for the help, it's really useful

I'm sorry that I didn't explain the issue very well intially.

The issue is that actual rates calculated seem to be incorrect. ( whilst yes, the shape is the same )...