How can the measured values of time series in one visualization be connected via a line per each time series?

Hello,
I'm new to the Kibana environment and I did not manage to build the following visualization:

From several temperature sensors, the measured values ​​are retrieved from a server and written to the Elasticsearch.

• Each document contains the unique sensor name, the time of measurement and the measured value. For each sensor there is only one document at a time of measurement.
  • All documents are written to one index (iot_sensor_data).
  • Addionally, there is an index per sensor into which only the documents of the associated sensor are written.

In Kibana I would like to have a visualization in which all temperature time series (x-axis: measuring time, y-axis: measured value) are included and the measured values ​​are connected via a line.

• With the visualization 'Line' I get only the time series of a sensor as desired.
  • In the 'Visual Builder' visualization, the measured values ​​of the individual time series are not connected by a line.

Thanks for any help!

Hi @bkruenelke - welcome!

To clarify, are you saying you are able to get the desired results in a Line visualization, but not in Visual Builder? Based on your description, I believe you should be able to accomplish what you are looking for as follows:

In Visualize > Line:

1. Y-Axis metric: Sum aggregation on the temperature value field
  2. X-Axis bucket: date histogram on your recorded timestamp
  3. Split Series bucket: Terms aggregation on the unique sensor name

In Visualize > Visual Builder:

1. In the metrics section of the data tab: Sum aggregation on the temperature value field
  2. Group by terms, by field name for the unique sensor name
  3. In the panel options tab: make sure you have selected your index pattern & time field

Which version of Kibana are you using?

Hi Luke,