Kibana:getting past login page with selenium

I am trying to get some to some pages in kibana through selenium/crome dirver. I have seen some samples from some time ago where providing the user/pwd in the url worked, but now, if I do this, still gets me to the page where you get:

Being a newbie in selenium stuff, not sure if this is easy to overcome with selenium, anyone has done it?

thanks!

Hi @jmlucjav ,

Embedding credentials into URLs isn't recommended and certain features may not work anyway.

I'm not an expert in Selenium/WebDriver, but I'd suggest you to poke around our own WebDriver based test helpers that would allow you to simulate login as a setup stage for your tests: kibana/security_page.ts at ddac0e95010756f34e655e9fe63248e89b0a8885 · elastic/kibana · GitHub

Best,
Oleg

Thanks for the pointer!

Yeah I saw you guys do something like that in those tests, but forgot to mention I am using selenium from python, no idea how mess with that typescript code...

Technically what you need is to know the proper sequence of actions to perform a login and the right CSS selectors, that should be relative easy to figure from our TypeScript code base and port to Python even if TS isn't your language of choice for day to day work :slightly_smiling_face:

So yeah, I'd encourage you to try and experiment, and if you're really stuck feel free to tag me here.

Best,
Oleg

I really appreciate the help Oleg! I tried for some hours but I see it's are rough field for me, not my area of expertise at all... Will resort to google once in a while (and checking here) see if someone solves my exact issue, and meanwhile will try to find a plan B.

By the way, I'm curious what you're trying to achieve? Maybe there are simpler ways to do what you want.

We have anonymous access and so on that may not involve login screen at all.