Kibana Install Error - should not run as root

Elk Stack newbie here... When I install Kibana on Centos 8 I get an error on install saying that I should not run ./bin/kibana as root. Do I need to create a specific user called "Kibana" instead of running as sudo? When I run it as current user "elkstackadmin" I get errors that Babel could not write cache to file /kibana-7.6.0-linux-x86_64/optimize/.babel_register_cache.json due to a permission issue. Cache is disabled...

Any insight on this would be extremely helpful.

Thanks,

Technolust

You can either create a new user or give the elkstackadmin user ownership of the kibana installation, with chown -R elkstackadmin /kibana-7.6.0-linux-x86_64

You can - should - also use the RPM repo to install it, it'll create the user for you.

Thanks Mark,

Are you referring to the method where you manually add the repo to yum.repos.d

Create a file called kibana.repo in the /etc/yum.repos.d/
then sudo yum install kibana

or

the method where you download the rpm:

wget https://artifacts.elastic.co/downloads/kibana/kibana-7.6.0-x86_64.rpm
shasum -a 512 kibana-7.6.0-x86_64.rpm
sudo rpm --install kibana-7.6.0-x86_64.rpm

Sorry the elastic site is not very clear on which method is best to use and super convoluted to try and figure out. I've pretty much built the server like 4 times now. "Thank the lord for VMWare!"

Joe

I rebuilt the server last night but passed out before I coulds try this. Sine the elastic site isn't very clear on which way to install/configure should I use the (Add repo to yum.repos.d or download the rpm method). Which is best practice?

Technolust

We provide options so that people can pick what they prefer.

If you aren't sure, use the repos.

Thanks Mark, I just wasn't sure if one way was better/standard over the other. I'm a newbie to ELK stack. I will try the method of manually adding the repos by creating a kibana user and installing under the kibana user.