Logstash-* unable to fetch mapping in kibana

I have Logstash Kibana and Elasticsearch (all version 5.6.2) configured and running on Windows Server 2012 R2, running through a remote desktop connection. I am working on my logstash config file to read data from a .txt file and output to elasticsearch then to kibana. I can't figure out for the life of me why in kibana it says no matching indices for "logstash-*".

I am very new at this, so bear with me please!

logstash.conf:
input {
file {
path => "//ntsvc/logs/*.txt"
}
}

filter {
grok {
match => { "message" => "%{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601}%{SPACE}Local4.%{LOGLEVEL}%{SPACE}%{IP}%{SPACE}%{CISCOTIMESTAMP}%%{SYSLOGPROG} %{GREEDYDATA:message}" }
}
}

output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => ["localhost:9200"]
}
}

The only settings i changed in logstash.yml are:
config.test_and_exit: true

config.reload.automatic: true

Some sample data from the .txt file (edited for sensitive information):
2017-09-18 00:00:01 Local4.Debug IP Sep 18 2017 00:00:01: %ASA-0-0000: UDP request discarded from IP to COVERT:IP

I've tested the config file in PowerShell and it says the file is ok and all are running, I have a feeling I have something not configured correctly.

Thank you in advance!

Logstash is tailing the input file and waiting for more data. Please read the documentation about sincedb in the file input documentation and, in particular, check out the sincedb_path and start_position options.

Since I wrote the original post I added

start_position => "beginning"
sincedb_path => "/dev/null"

to the input section of my config file and the issue still persists

Don't use /dev/null on Windows, use nul instead.

My entire conf is as follows:
input {
file {
path => "\\ntsvc\Logs\*.txt"
start_position => "beginning"
sincedb_path => "NUL"
ignore_older => 0
}
}

filter {
grok
{
#grok filter generated and working through pattern generator with my data
}
}

output {
elasticsearch {
hosts => ["localhost:9200"]
}
}