Mail Configuration for Heart Beat

I am using HeartBeat in our server to check the availability of multiple URLs and it is showing properly in Kibana. I want to get an email if an url is not available or not responding. Is there a way to configure email.

You could setup an xpack watch to email you when any "down" events are reported by Heartbeat. Unfortunately I don't have an example ready, but can look for one if x-pack is an option for you.

Another option is to send the emails from Logstash.

Here's the watch that I use to send Slack notifications when a host goes down. It may need to be updated for the latest Heartbeat version because I think some of the fields were renamed. To make it send an email you would replace the slack action with an email action.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. I am new to elastic stack and am not that much familar to xpack. When i checked the documentation, it is mentioned that xpack can be installed with elastic search and kibana. I am not sure where I have to install this in my case. In our case, we are not using logstash and heartbeat is directly sending output to elastic search. I had give a try by instaling xpack with both elastic search and kibana plugin, but after restarting both the services, kibana is not working and it is redirecting to the url "http://*****:5601/login?next=%2Fapp%2Fkibana" which is showing the error message 'ERR_TOO_MANY_REDIRECTS'.

Yes, you should install xpack in both ES and KB. Xpack comes also with security (user/pass authentication), that's what is causing the redirect. I'm not sure why it doesn't work, though, perhaps you could try a different browser, or cleanup the cookies?

Alternatively, while getting started, you can disable the security in xpack by adding the following int he ES config: xpack.security.enabled=false.

1 Like