Marvel - How to save modified settings?


(Tony Su) #1

Am wondering if I'm missing something,
Also, where Dashboards are stored when Marvel is installed as a plugin.

Attempt::
Modify threshold for Disk Free Space in default Nodes panel

Procedure:
Successfully set new values by clicking on the "configure" gear top right
of the default NODES panel
Click the "Panel" tab top left
Click the "edit" icon on the "Disk Free Space" row
Modify values
Click the "Save" bottom right

The above steps return the display to the "Overview" dashboard which
successfully displays the metrics according to the modified values.

But,
If the entire webpage is closed immediately and re-opened, the modified
values are lost and the metrics are displayed according to default values.

Thinking that perhaps the entire dashboard needed to be saved,
I repeated modifying the "Disk Free Space" values like before and this time
in the top right of the Overview Dashboard, I clicked the "Save" icon >
Advanced > "Save as Home"

But, when the entire webpage is shutdown and re-opened, the changes still
aren't saved and are displayed according to the default values.

Bug or am I missing something?

Tony

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/5a988922-1cda-4b53-ae8d-e014000fa865%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Boaz Leskes) #2

Hi Tony,

You indeed need to save the whole dashboard as well. You do so by clicking
the save icon on the top right , potentially change the name of the
dashboard an click the save icon on that drop down. Note that the browser
url changed. You might want to make the new overview your default dashboard
(under advanced in the same menu). You custom dashboard will be available
via the load folder icon (left of the saved one).

As where the dashboards are stored on file: see
_plugin/marvel/kibana/app/dashboards/marvel/

Cheers,
Boaz

On Friday, February 7, 2014 7:33:51 PM UTC+1, Tony Su wrote:

Am wondering if I'm missing something,
Also, where Dashboards are stored when Marvel is installed as a plugin.

Attempt::
Modify threshold for Disk Free Space in default Nodes panel

Procedure:
Successfully set new values by clicking on the "configure" gear top right
of the default NODES panel
Click the "Panel" tab top left
Click the "edit" icon on the "Disk Free Space" row
Modify values
Click the "Save" bottom right

The above steps return the display to the "Overview" dashboard which
successfully displays the metrics according to the modified values.

But,
If the entire webpage is closed immediately and re-opened, the modified
values are lost and the metrics are displayed according to default values.

Thinking that perhaps the entire dashboard needed to be saved,
I repeated modifying the "Disk Free Space" values like before and this
time in the top right of the Overview Dashboard, I clicked the "Save" icon

Advanced > "Save as Home"

But, when the entire webpage is shutdown and re-opened, the changes still
aren't saved and are displayed according to the default values.

Bug or am I missing something?

Tony

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/9ef1317d-c56f-40ed-baa9-27b2f745ef88%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Tony Su) #3

Thx for clarification.

But, tried to save entire dashboard without a new name and settings were not saved.

Will try to save with new name later today.

Tony

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/1c11d89a-ca32-4dd3-a83d-55f13c02c7ea%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Tony Su) #4

Am unable to save my settings.

First, I found that the existing Dashboard Save is a bit unorthodox and
therefor confusing.

I don't think it's clear that the field populated by default with "Marvel
Overview" is an editable input field, to me it looks like a label.
And therefor, next to the input field is the Save icon which looks like a
save icon but IMO is not obvious that it is more than simply an icon that
provides feedback the User is preparing to save.

Then, "Advanced" is not clear although by clicking I can see that it saves
as the default Kibana Dashboard.

But, regardless of the above, and especially now after some tinkering I
understand how things probably work, custom settings are still not
saved.

Steps to reproduce:
Set ES Data Directory to a small partition, eg. 20GB. Since it's less than
50GB, Marvel Overview will display free disk space with a warning by
default.

Set new disk free settings as follows
Warning - 10240 bytes
Error - 4096 bytes
Save.

Verify on Marvel - Overview Dashboard that warning is no longer displayed.
Save. I've tried both resaving the existing "Marvel-Overview" Dashboard and
creating a new "My Custom" Dashboard.
Close the Web Browser Marvel window.
Re-open. Observe settings are default again and custom settings are lost.

Also,
Repeat the above, but this time instead of just saving,
"Save as Home"
When the web browser window is re-launched, the custom settings are still
lost and the Marvel-Overview Dashboard is displayed, not the "My Custom"
Dashboard.

Maybe a permissions issue making it not possible to write changes?
Marvel was installed exactly as described as an ES plugin.

Tony

On Sunday, February 9, 2014 12:08:18 PM UTC-8, Tony Su wrote:

Thx for clarification.

But, tried to save entire dashboard without a new name and settings were
not saved.

Will try to save with new name later today.

Tony

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/a7ccd2a9-58f2-40cc-a14e-4e130818a7d7%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(system) #5