Monitor and alert on custom company windows services

We need to monitor custom company windows services and send an alert when one of them stops.

We have added the Windows Integration to the agent profile for the server that we want to monitor the Windows services on. We are using Fleet to manage our agent. We can see data in the "[Metrics Windows] Services dashboard", but our company created Windows services do not show up in the dashboard.

How can we get our custom Windows services in the data stream and create an alert when one of them stops.

Notes:
I am new to Elastic.
There was a similar topic, but no solution was provided.

Hi @CodeCraft Welcome to the community

What version?

When you go to Kibana Discover
Can you find the service?

Data View: metrics-*

KQL bar : windows.service.name : B use the First letter or so of the service do you see it?

Can you filter on it? Can you find the Documents?

Example

If that works we can work on an Alert....

There is also Service Display Name... Can you find it?

Hi @stephenb

Version: "8.11.1" (from "GET /" in Dev console ).

I can find the service in Kibana Discover for both name and display name (When I filter on it I can see the name, or display name in the Document).

Ok

So, the service IS in the data stream that is good; why it is not in the dashboard is unclear.. we can come back to that

So you can now create an alert probably a couple of different ways.

You can try this...

Kibana - Stack Management - Rules -> Create Rule

Metric Threshold rule

You can adjust the parameters...

name: myservice-alert 

WHEN Document count IS BELOW OR EQUALS 5

FOR THE LAST 5 minutes

Filter (optional)
windows.service.state : Running and windows.service.name : yourserivename

Group alerts by (optional)
host.name

Hi @stephenb.