Querying Multiple Nodes on Same Host

I am new to ElasticSearch (1.7) and currently running a Logstash (1.5.4) and ElasticSearch on the same host. I am trying to scale my ElasticSearch to have multiple instances. I have been able to get multiple ElasticSearch instances working with data being correctly inserted into their indices. I was wondering how it is possible to retrieve the data from all three instances using one query (able to retrieve from individual instances)?

Are these instances part of the same cluster? If yes, then you can query any node for any index that's part of the cluster. If no, your only option would be setting up a tribe node.

1 Like

We are using the same cluster to group the nodes, so basically I would have to specifically assign each index (time-based) to a specific node through Logstash. I think I was using a round-robin so they we appearing in each node, so I was able to retrieve the results from the specific node, but was not able to figure out how to aggregate data from multiple nodes in the same cluster. I currently deploy through Ansible so this probably make a little more easier during deployment if this is the case but make a more difficult to retrieve the data through our Django application.

We are using the same cluster to group the nodes, so basically I would have to specifically assign each index (time-based) to a specific node through Logstash.

No... why? Logstash can't control where indexes and shards are allocated.

Again, just connect to any cluster node and let ES deal with everything.

1 Like

I currently trying to scale the system vertically. I am still a little unclear on how the data is supposed to go from Logstash to ElasticSearch without having data getting duplicated (same index exists in each node). Currently each index is showing up in each node I have deployed. My configuration settings are below:

ElasticSearch settings (each Node is configured to have its own config, data/work directory, log file)
NODE 1