Synced Snapshots in S3 don't show up as available in the Repository

I'm new to Elasticsearch and trying to copy an index from a Dev environment to a Test environment.

I've installed the S3 Repository plugin in both Dev and Test and configured the repository in Kibana. I setup a policy in the Dev environment to create backups on a nightly basis.

I synced the Dev S3 bucket to the Test S3 repository bucket. The Test S3 repo seems to validate fine in Kibana. When I go into the "Snapshot and Restore" section of Kibana though and try to restore a snapshot to the Test environment, it says that I don't have any snapshots yet.

Is there something that I need to do to make "Snapshot and Restore" aware of the snapshot files that have been copied over?

Thanks in advance!

Hi @mattph and welcome.

You're effectively trying to restore the repository in your test environment from a repository backup, but skipping some of the steps described in the manual. Note in particular:

When restoring a repository from a backup, you must not register the repository with Elasticsearch until the repository contents are fully restored. If you alter the contents of a repository while it is registered with Elasticsearch then the repository may become unreadable or may silently lose some of its contents.

1 Like

Hi David, thank you for your quick response.

Since the documentation you referenced indicated that the registration can only happen after the files are there, I went ahead and removed the repository in the Test environment and then tried to recreate the repo. That still didn't seem to work, although I received a different result. On the Snapshots tab, I received the message "Some repositories contain errors" and it still did not display the snapshots.