Unable to create a Kibana Index pattern

I am using an Ubuntu machine, and I have just finished downloading all of ELK onto it, I now want to create a Kibana Index pattern with Filebeat but it is not allowing me to do so. How can I fix this issue or find out why it's happening? Thank you!

Hi @Maria_Elle,

Can you check to see filebeat is running and connected successfully to elasticsearch?

Thanks,
Liza

Hi, I checked the status of filbeat, as shown in the screenshot below, it seems like it is running.

Thank you for helping.

These does not mean data is being reach to elastic cluster and saved as index. this means daemon filebeat is running.

what is your filebeat.yml file on output section. are you directly sending to elk node?

Okay I understand, I am very new to ELK and currently trying to learn how to input a log file into Elasticsearch.

Right now this is what my filebeat.yml looks like for output. Do I need to configure it another way so it is communicating correctly to Elasticsearch?

Thank you so much for your help!

do you have setup any kind of login in to kibana/elk? if yes you have to enable
username
password

default login is elastic:changeme

run this from your command line

curl -XGET localhost:9200/_cluster/health?pretty

{
"cluster_name" : "mycluster-1",
"status" : "green",
"timed_out" : false,
"number_of_nodes" : 1,
"number_of_data_nodes" : 1,
"active_primary_shards" : 21,
"active_shards" : 40,
"relocating_shards" : 0,
"initializing_shards" : 0,
"unassigned_shards" : 0,
"delayed_unassigned_shards" : 0,
"number_of_pending_tasks" : 0,
"number_of_in_flight_fetch" : 0,
"task_max_waiting_in_queue_millis" : 0,
"active_shards_percent_as_number" : 100.0
}

then it is without password.
if you need password you do

curl -u elastic:changeme localhost:9200/_cluster/health?pretty