Windows service 7.2 fails to start

I'm new to Elasticsearch. Below are my eventually successful results. There were, however, errors along the way. I provide this on the off chance that it is useful.

With Win10 Pro, build 18362.175, java version "1.8.0_211", installing via the msi hangs when launching the service. The related event was:

Service cannot be started. Elastic.ProcessHosts.Process.StartupException: Could not evaluate jvm.options file: C:\ProgramData\Elastic\Elasticsearch\config\jvm.options result: Exception in thread "main" java.nio.file.NoSuchFileException: C:\ProgramData\Elastic\Elasticsearch\config\jvm.options
	at java.base/sun.nio.fs.WindowsException.translateToIOException(WindowsException.java:85)
	at java.base/sun.nio.fs.WindowsException.rethrowAsIOException(WindowsException.java:103)
	at java.base/sun.nio.fs.WindowsException.rethrowAsIOException(WindowsException.java:108)
	at java.base/sun.nio.fs.WindowsFileSystemProvider.newByteChannel(WindowsFileSystemProvider.java:231)
	at java.base/java.nio.file.Files.newByteChannel(Files.java:370)
	at java.base/java.nio.file.Files.newByteChannel(Files.java:421)
	at java.base/java.nio.file.spi.FileSystemProvider.newInputStream(FileSystemProvider.java:420)
	at java.base/java.nio.file.Files.newInputStream(Files.java:155)
	at org.elasticsearch.tools.launchers.JvmOptionsParser.main(JvmOptionsParser.java:6...

After cancelling I downloaded and successfully installed from the the 6.7 msi. Service is up & running.

I had a similar issue:

Service cannot be started. Elastic.ProcessHosts.Process.StartupException: Could not evaluate jvm.options file: C:\ProgramData\Elastic\Elasticsearch\config\jvm.options result: Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: starting java failed with [1]
output:
[0.002s][error][logging] Error opening log file 'logs/gc.log': No such file or directory
[0.002s][error][logging] Initialization of output 'file=logs/gc.log' using options 'filecount=32,filesize=64m' failed.
error: