Can't connect remotely to Kibana from Windows machine

I have kibana installed on ubuntu server and can't navigate to it remotely. I'm on the same private network as the server. I've edited the kibana.yml file to the following:

Kibana is served by a back end server. This setting specifies the port to use.

server.port: 5601

Specifies the address to which the Kibana server will bind. IP addresses and host names are both valid values.

The default is 'localhost', which usually means remote machines will not be able to connect.

To allow connections from remote users, set this parameter to a non-loopback address.

server.host: "0.0.0.0"

I've opened the port 5601 and even disabled UFW with no luck. Any suggestions on what else I should look for. I'm new to this so help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Are you able to connect to the server from a browser running locally? Or able to use curl to get a Kibana HTTP response locally?

No I can't. I get this using curl

HTTP/1.1 503 Service Unavailable
retry-after: 30
content-type: text/html; charset=utf-8
cache-control: no-cache
content-length: 30
Date: Fri, 22 Feb 2019 12:46:10 GMT
Connection: keep-alive

Tim. Now I get this when I try and access remotely in chrome. Looks like I’m getting close.

Kibana server is not ready yet

Hi Tim. Any thoughts as to why I keep getting this "Kibana server is not ready yet"? Thanks!

Hi, apologies for the lapse.

Is Elasticsearch up and running when you start Kibana?

Do the logs show anything about the connection to Elasticsearch?

I don't see what version you are running, but perhaps it's an issue of Kibana getting stuck trying to upgrade from an older version?
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/kibana/current/release-notes-6.5.0.html#known-issues-6.5.0