Create Visualization on Dashboard (Filtering) and Save

Hello there,

if i have a Master-Dashboard with a lot of datatables and i filter the data step by step.
Finally i get a Line Chart with the clicked filters.
With this workaround, you don't have to write the filter by hand on the "Visualization"-Site

Can i save the filtered Chart and implement this chart in another Dashboard?

Thanks community

Can i save the filtered Chart and implement this chart in another Dashboard?

It's a bit clunky, but yes, you can. As you are using the tables to filter data, it is creating filters in Kibana, near the top, under the search bar. You can then pin those filters, which will cause them to follow you around to Discover and Visualize. If you then edit the visualization on the Dashboard, or otherwise open it in Visualize, you can save it as a new Visualization (or, if you'd like, overwrite the existing visualization) and all those active filters will be saved as part of that new visualization.

Hope that makes sense.

1 Like

Thaanks =) that is exactly what i mean :slight_smile:

Do you also know any possibillity to trigger the "dynamic" chart on the dashboard, which you modify with adding the filter with the tables, so that it will only monitor the values a special filter was added.

Now the Problem is, when i have a master dashboard with a lot of tables, where i can add step by step a filter, the dynamic dashboard makes first an average over all documents in this time range.

I'm not sure I understand what you're asking to do, but I think you're asking if you can see the records that are being used to generate a visualization. So that, as you apply filters and narrow things down, you can also see the records in Elasticsearch that match those filters.

If that's right, the answer is mostly no, but it kind of depends what you want to see. If you have a saved search (from Discover) in your dashboard, it'll show the matching records.