Logstash 2.2 Installation issue on Ubuntu 14.04 (APT) - First time

Hi All,

This is my first time installing Logstash and have been doing my best to follow the documentation for APT (on Ubuntu).

As an aside, I just finished installing InfluxDB, Telegraf, Kapacitor which had a similar process for adding the repository definition. That all seemed to go fine, but after doing more research, it looks like the ELK stack is the way to go..

Followed the procedure below:

https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/logstash/current/package-repositories.html

$ wget -qO - https://packages.elastic.co/GPG-KEY-elasticsearch | sudo apt-key add -

$ echo "deb http://packages.elastic.co/logstash/2.2/debian stable main" | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list

$ sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install logstash

These all completed fine, but the next step is baffling me?
$ logstash
logstash: command not found

I can't find in the documentation what is command (or daemon) to use logstash?

Is it called logstash or something else?

Super keen to play and get this working, but a little frustrated with the documentation.

Gabe

The Logstash binary is installed in /opt/logstash/bin, which isn't in your PATH. It's also installed as a system service so you can use e.g. service logstash start to start it (but that's only useful once you have configuration in place).

You can use dpkg-query -L logstash to list the contents of an installed package.

Hi Magnus,

Thank you for getting back with those pointers, cleared up a few basic concepts.

The main (most urgent) objective for us today, is to implement comprehensive collection of system performance metrics (cpu, mem, disk, network, processes, users, date, time etc) across our servers to monitor the resource requirements of our applications and workflows (Java, Perl, Shell)