Extract the underlying query from a filter which I created visually

I am new to the Elastic Stack, so far it has been super-fun to learn. Thanks for making this great toolkit available!

The feature I most love in Kibana is the feature where you select a region from a timeline or a slice of pie from a pie chart to create a filter, and all the other charts in the dashboard use that filter. And I can invert filter, so I can filter out big chunks of stuff which are not of interest. Cool!

What I haven't been able to do, however, is extract that filter as query I can use elsewhere. By way of example, if I have a pie chart of HTTP response codes, I might click the pie slice representing all the 404 codes. Somewhere Kibana has a query, perhaps "response:404," which implements this filter. I'm wondering how I can gain access to that query.

FYI, my use cases are: 1) view the raw data in the Discover tab and 2) combine filters, for example to apply several inverted filters and 3) use the filter in a saved search.

I'm using Elastic Stack 5.0 on Ubuntu 16 via apt-get.

1 Like

There isn't a simple copy paste way to get at it, but we can put it together. In discover on the date histogram, or in any visualization click on the up arrow in the bottom left:

Next click on the request tab and copy everything in the query block:

Then, you'll want to delete the range aggregation on your date field if there is one. This will be filled in automatically by your timepicker.

Everything else you should be able to drop in the searchbar and save.

3 Likes

Oh, that is cool.

Sadly, I don't think I can use that JSON syntax in places like the Discover tab or to create new visualizations. I need to use Lucene Query Syntax in those places.

This solution does give me the field names and values, which gets me a lot closer to me goal. I guess I need to learn how to convert from Elastic Search's Query DSL to Lucene Query Syntax.

Thanks for the clue!