How to select data from multiple indicess

Hi Everyone,

I am new to ELK stack, and I am facing an issue with searching data from multiple indices in single query.

I am able to do this from Dev tool but not from Discover or visualization. Can anyone please help me on this.

Create an index pattern in Management -> Index Patterns. Then you can use that in Discover and Visualizations. Use index-xxx* type format to cover multiple indexes.

Thanks @aaron-nimocks , but I think that will create a single index pattern and all the data will be there in single index only and it might impact the performance as well, and also if I want to generate report from one of the index that will also not be possible.

is there something like join(as we have in sql) to select from multiple indexes

Please suggest.

Can you give an example of the dev tools query you are using to get the result you want?

Hi @aaron-nimocks , below is the query which I got from inspect of visualization

{
"aggs": {
"2": {
"terms": {
"field": "SERVICE_NAME.keyword",
"order": {
"_count": "desc"
},
"size": 500
},
"aggs": {
"3": {
"terms": {
"field": "CHANNEL_NAME.keyword",
"order": {
"_count": "desc"
},
"size": 50
}
}
}
}
},
"size": 0,
"stored_fields": [
"*"
],
"script_fields": {},
"docvalue_fields": [
{
"field": "@timestamp",
"format": "date_time"
}
],
"_source": {
"excludes":
},
"query": {
"bool": {
"must": ,
"filter": [
{
"match_all": {}
},
{
"range": {
"@timestamp": {
"gte": "2020-08-19T13:38:15.991Z",
"lte": "2020-08-20T13:38:15.992Z",
"format": "strict_date_optional_time"
}
}
}
],
"should": ,
"must_not":
}
}
}

Below , is the query which I am using from Devtool